The minimum wage debate on employment was very much alive the past few days across the blogosphere (and still is, actually). I’ve had very many interesting discussions with people with differing points of views. I think I’ve learned a lot from it. Perhaps in the future I will be able to touch on a few issues I wasn’t able to in my last post.

In any case, I’m pleased to be adding three new blogs to my blog roll. As always, I might not agree with everything being posted on these blogs, but I find what they have to offer interesting and worthwhile. They usually cover many of the same topics I might and you’ll typically find them to be liberty-minded.

The first is Classically Liberal, a blog that covers a whole host of issues, typically with a libertarian perspective. I don’t really know anything about the author except that they go by the name CLS.

The next is the Becker-Posner Blog, which is maintained by Gary S. Becker and Richard Posner. Dr. Becker is a professor of economics at the University of Chicago and the the recipient of the Nobel Prize in Economics in 1992 “for having extended the domain of microeconomic analysis to a wide range of human behaviour and interaction, including non-market behaviour.” Judge Posner is a judge for the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit in Chicago and lectures at the University of Chicago Law School. He has been a respected writer on law and economics. The blog, which was started in 2004, typically takes a classically liberal approach to contemporary issues.

Finally, I am adding the Freakonomics blog. This blog is an offshoot of one of my favorite books: Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (2005). The book, written by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner, is about economic theory being applied to culture and other social phenomena. Dr. Levitt is a professor of economics at the University of Chicago and Mr. Dubner is a journalist for The New York Times. At least six additional people currently write for the blog. The blog tends to focus on economics, incentives, and other interesting news. One of my favorite parts about the blog is that the people who comment on it are very bright and bring just as much insight into issues as the writers for the blog. Enjoy!

